Losing It: In Beautiful Goa (Part Three)

So, in all my frustration, I packed my bags for Goa and upon reaching there, my frustration about the whole weight loss thing just went poof. I mean, there is something in the air of Goa; no, really. It makes you forget all your worries and you’re just happy. So well, yeah, here I was in Goa, the lovely, lovely Goa.

Like I said in my earlier post, weight loss was not part of my Goa plan. Obviously! You got to Goa for peace and some fun. And that’s what I planned on getting. Oh, I had my itinerary and all that in place. Ha! So, how did the weight loss happen? I’ll tell you.

Travel (within Goa): Now, Goa has a lot of travel options, don’t worry. I chose to travel by the local buses. If you’re wondering, they’re safe! However, what probably led to the weight loss (and I am assuming) is the whole process of changing buses to get around, you know, like from one place to another. So, walking or running (hehe) to get into the bus gave me the much needed physical activity. But, weight loss because of that, maybe.

Activity: Now, by activity, I mean the physical exertion that I may have gone through, not those water sports or any other activity. Come on, I’m trying to lose weight here. So, yeah. Two incidents come to my mind that left me drained. One was the visit to Chapora Fort. Oh the climb to get up there is seriously crazy (but totally worth it). So, huffing and puffing, I climbed up there and what a view; wow, just wow! By the way, did I mention that the Bollywood film Dil Chaata Hai was shot here. Right!

The second incident was the long walk to Britto’s at Baga Beach. In case you’re wondering why I’d walk there and if I was out of my mind, it was that smart alec bus conductor, who told me that the bus would go to Baga when its last stop was Calangute. But, I forgive him. I totally do because that walk to Britto’s, even though exhausting, may have led to me losing some more of my baggage. 😉

And how can I forget the nice, long walks on the various beaches I went to. All these helped, I think.

Food: A total diet change is what I experienced in the five days that I was at Goa. Food here is very different from, at least, what I eat in the Maximum City, where I live. I practically lived on rice preparations, fish (either shallow fried or steamed in a gravy), and veggies (any) through those days. Calling the food tasty, I believe, would be an understatement. These simple food preparations were divine and healthy, if I may add.

Weather: An important factor I considered was the hot and humid Goa weather in the month of April. Yes, I was sun-burned and deeply tanned. However, I think, summer is on of the best times for weight loss and possibly the Goa weather played in my weight loss, too.

And guess what, when I weighed myself upon returning home, ya ha, I was lighter. I did suspect that because my pants were, you know, lose all of a sudden but when you see a smaller number there on that scale, now, that’s some reinforcement. I was now at 76.5 kg. And, as for Goa, it always had a special place in my heart and it’ll continue to remain there forever.

About Sandy Chris

An avid reader and ardent traveller with a penchant for photography and good food.
This entry was posted in Sandyism, Travels and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Losing It: In Beautiful Goa (Part Three)

  1. Good on you! Losing weight probably also had to do with letting go and not putting that pressure on yourself to lose the weight! Makes a difference! I had a similar experience 7 years ago when I was gyming and following the trainers meal plan and the scale didnt budge!!

Leave a Reply

