Losing It: A Psychological Play (Part One)

So I thought I’d use my blog to share my weight loss story. And to begin with, let me tell you, please love yourself, your body, concentrate on being the best version of you. Do not, I repeat, do not let anybody tell you otherwise.

With that, let me jump to why I chose to lose weight; it’s simple – I was on the borderline of being obese, which, of course, is an invitation to a host of other ailments. Ummm so, I didn’t really want to be sick and all, you know, physically. What was worse, however, was the psychological effect that my weight had on me. Coming from a society that chides you and labels you for being overweight, this weight started affecting me; it got me depressed. I had to do something about it and believe me, I tried everything (will write about this in further posts) with no results.

Mind you, I was excelling in life (be it studies or anything else) but this was a downer. It was a battle I fought and lost so many times that I’d given up all hopes. And all it did was increase my weight. That number kept going up! When it touched 81.4 kg (I’m 5’3″ tall and that wasn’t good for me), I was full-on depressed . . . I sobbed, I despised what I saw in the mirror. Disdain. Disappointment. Desparation. I felt it all. It sucked. I couldn’t play this psychological game.

But I hung on and all it took was a trip to one of the most gorgeous places in India – Goa – to get in the mood (wait, get motivated) to play this game. I’d decided not to quit . . . I’d play and I’d win this battle with the mind.

About Sandy Chris

An avid reader and ardent traveller with a penchant for photography and good food.
This entry was posted in Sandyism and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Losing It: A Psychological Play (Part One)

  1. Avril Fernandes says:

    You go girl

Leave a Reply

